Rising Stars Weekend

I was gone from school on Thursday and Friday because I had Rising Stars. Rising Stars is a team of the best 2nd year ’09 from each region so I am on the Interlake team. The Interlake team normally doesn’t win any games, but last weekend we finished with a record of 1-2-1, which isn’t terrible. I had an assist and 2 goals but the ref called off both my goals because he asked the other teams goalie if it went in and obviously their goalie said no just so my goal wouldn’t count so the only stat I had that counted was my assist. We played with 3 centers, 4 sets of wingers, and 7 defenseman. I was one of the centers with Madden and Justin, but Jacob played center too.

In our first game we did not play very good. We lost to Central Plains 5-1. In our second game, we started off pretty bad in the first period but then we played really good in the second two periods and evened it out 4-4. In overtime, it was 3-on-3. I had the puck and got around the defense. I tried to take a quick shot and the goalie reached out his toe and barely saved it. Then Yellowhead, which was the team we lost to, went down and sniped a goal right after that. It was sad but it was also our first point on the Rising Stars. Our next game was against NorMan. Their best player was missing, because he was at the RHA u-15 tryout. I was going to be there too but the Rising Stars games were interfering so unfortunately I couldn’t go.

Against NorMan our team played really good. We won 5-1. It should have been 7-1, but the goalie kept lying to the ref and the ref believed him so neither of my goals counted. That was really frustrating but at least we won. Then, in our last game, we played Eastman. Last time we played them we lost 10-0. They won the City Banner so it would be really hard for our team to beat them since we are Interlake. We started off well with a few scoring chances and held them to 2-0 through the first 16 minutes. Then they scored twice more in the last two minutes, although one of the goals didn’t go in, but this time the ref decided not to ask the goalie. In the second period we played really good again and they only scored 3 goals that period. Our games were not supposed to be hitting but the refs literally called nothing besides weak trips so we were levelling Eastman kids left and right. I levelled one kid open ice and two kids on the boards in that period. To give you an idea of how the refs called nothing, when I hit someone into the boards he grabbed my head, pushed it down and then held me there and the ref didn’t care. Then I tripped him as we were leaving that scrum and the ref still didn’t care. I wouldn’t have tripped him but I’m not going to just stand there and let someone manhandle me so I had to. In the third period, we didn’t play good at all. Most of us gave up and I don’t even know the final score because they stopped putting it on the scoreboard after 9-0. All in all, though, it was a good weekend.

Here is a link to Hockey Manitoba’s website, thanks for reading.                                                            

CCM Rising Stars PLUS+

That’s our logo.

CCM Rising Stars Plus+ Program

That’s what our jerseys look like, but that’s not our team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *